2014 Compensation Task Force

  • School Board Adopts Comparison Counties

    On June 10, 2014, the School Board formally adopted a comparison school division group.  The comparison school divisions are Albemarle, Fauquier, Hanover, Loudoun, Prince William, Spotsylvania, Henrico, Chesterfield, and Chesapeake. View Agenda Item 14.01

    Report from the Compensation Task Force

    The Compensation Task Force has been meeting weekly since September 2014 with the goal of developing a sustainable, flexible, and competitive teacher compensation model for the School Board's consideration.

    The task force closely examined a large amount of information, including, but not limited to, salary data from our nine (9) comparative school districts, teacher turnover statistics, and trends in the teacher applicant pool.  A market-driven model has been developed that may be used to identify and target those areas where we are less competitive.

    The task force has presented its findings and proposed compensation model to several stakeholder groups – the Finance and Budget Advisory Committee, the Superintendent's Teacher Advisory Committee, administrators, the Stafford Education Association, and the Superintendent's Cabinet – all of which provided insightful feedback.  The Compensation Task Force presented this information to the School Board at its regular meeting on Tuesday, December 9th.

    The task force is comprised of the following members:

    • Theresa Thompson:  Math Teacher, Brooke Point High School, and President, Stafford Education Association
    • Kathline Butler, Paraprofessional, A. G. Wright Middle School
    • Lance Wolff, Assistant Superintendent for Financial Services
    • Rick Fitzgerald, Executive Director of Human Resources
    • Brenda O'Brien, Director of Payroll and Benefits
    • Laura Ann Cline, Supervisor of Human Resources
    • Lisa Foeman Boatwright, Director of Employee Relations & Workforce Compliance

    Below is the Compensation Task Force presentation to the School Board on December 9, 2014.

    Compensation Task Force Presentation to the School Board (Powerpoint)
    Compensation Task Force Presentation to the School Board (PDF)