School Health Advisory Committee

  • Purpose: To advise the School Board of Stafford County concerning community perspectives about the school division's health programs, services and activities consistent with the requirements of relevant law, rule and/or regulation.

    Membership:  Members of the Board shall reserve up to two appointments for membership. May also have up to six at-large seats. (No other requirements regulated by law.)

    Possible Topics for Consideration:  

    • Female athlete concussion prevention and the relationship to concussion due to lack of neck strength and proper hydration.
    • Mental and emotional student health support focused on teen suicide prevention.
    • Medical support for students involved in extra-curricular activities.
    • Possible partnership with the “Youth at Risk” committee at the Sheriff’s department.
    • Recommendations from School Nutrition linked to changes in the law and new trends.
    • Work with school counselors to identify areas we can improve to better support students.
    • Review the CPR/AED/FA program.
    • Lightening and severe weather notification programs and equipment
    • Possible participation in the “SHAPE” America 50 million strong campaign promoting fitness and wellness planning.
    • Playground safety
    • Review the drug awareness curriculum “Educating and Empowering Youth” designed through a partnership with Facilitator of HPE and the SRO’s.
    • Opiate awareness

    Additional suggestions are solicited from committee members. Committee input is encouraged and the list of topics are prioritized.

    Questions about this advisory committee should be directed to the committee facilitator (Mike Justice). His contact information is provided below. 

    2019-2020 MEETINGS 

    The current officers for the School Health Advisory Committee are:  Andrea Aguirre (chair), Jonathan Greenstein (vice-chair), and Kelly Thompson (secretary).

    Please note that each meeting's agenda will be available to the public one day prior to the meeting. A link to the document will be inserted into the below table at that time. The minutes from that meeting will then be brought to the committee for approval (by vote) at the next meeting. Once the minutes have been approved, a link to the document will be inserted into the below table (usually within 48 hours after approval).

    Below are the scheduled meeting dates for the current school year. In the event of inclement weather or a school closure, the meeting will be canceled.

Prior Years' Meetings

  • To view agendas/minutes from the 2018-2019 school year, click here.

    To view agendas/minutes from the 2017-2018 school year, click here.

    To view agendas/minutes from the 2016-2017 school year, click here.

    To view agendas/minutes from the 2015-2016 school year, click here.

    To view agendas/minutes from the 2014-2015 school year, click here.



Committee Facilitator

Mr. Mike Justice

Phone: (540) 658-6694


Degrees and Certifications:

Mr. Mike Justice

Health, Physical Education, Athletics & Wellness Facilitator

School Board Member Liaison

Ms. Patricia Healy

Phone: (540) 850-5154


Degrees and Certifications:

Ms. Patricia Healy

School Board member for the Rock Hill District

School Board Member Alternate Liaison

Dr. Elizabeth Warner

Phone: (540) 623-4477


Degrees and Certifications:

Dr. Elizabeth Warner

School Board member for the Griffis-Widewater District

Current SHAC Members

If you are having trouble viewing the document, you may download the document.